add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

How to decide on a motherboard?

escape_velocity
  • 8 months ago

So I’ve been working on and off for the past 6 months on assembling a part list. I’ve had no previous experience beforehand and learned a lot of things but still am a dumbass with purchase anxiety. My biggest concern was always the motherboard. I initially selected an Asus Prime Z370-A just because it was recommended by a hardware magazine. After doing some more research I noticed several people on the Internet said that a Z390 was generally the better choice. I looked up the differences between z370 and z390, but I wasn’t sure if it would be worth it for me. So I asked for feedback on the forums and someone recommended me the MSI - MPG Z390 Gaming Pro Carbon. It looked fine to me and I thought to myself “ok now I have a z390, that’s off the list”. But I wanted to be sure that I made the right choice, so I posted my part list (https://de.pcpartpicker.com/list/VPJCNQ ) again on the forums. The response I got was this:

The motherboard VRMs aren't good for a 9900K but should be fine for an 8700K. You may want to check how many rear USB ports you need in your setup, because this board is somewhat limited there.You should aim for a 400A binned GPU. Especially since the XC Ultra is cheaper than Black you have selected.A VRM that can handle a 9900K, more USB options (and cheaper) on this motherboard.Up to 12% better GPU performance (and cheaper) GPU.

EDIT: Also, if you don't need 12 threads, the 9700K is a bit faster and €4 cheaper than the 8700K